A Work in Progress

I am really enjoying all the people that I get to know and interact with in my recovery walk, and I believe that God puts them in my path on purpose. I can learn something from anyone who is currently abstaining from any kind of an addiction on a plan or program. I have progressed to the point, as far as years are concerned, where I feel the pressure to be some sort of example or case of all these unruly habits and emotions being reigned in perfectly in an ongoing state of recovery. That is just not my own reality though.

     Certainly I have been through detox and been set free from the gnawing urge to get away right away that formerly resulted in drug use, drinking, or relationships in the past earlier years of my life. I am past the early damage control phase when I woke up and saw the reality of the true result of trying to escape consequences of my actions or omissions. I have changed careers, emptied the nest, divorced, had a religious conversion, and made a lot of amends. I am surprised as I take a close look at my life to find that I still have 4 or 5 issues that require my careful attention and the development of a more disciplined approach, and probably an accountability partner of some sort.

     Oh well, pride is one of the character defects that I really had a lot of while I was in a state of intoxicated self-deception. I may as well let it go and accept the help that is always offered to anyone who reaches out for recovery. I may be to the point where I am really supposed to become a ‘Good Housekeeper.’ I never have had time to shine in that arena, but I perceive that other people can do that. Perhaps I can model some of their behavior, lol. I guess that recovery lifestyle really is like peeling an onion, as I have heard said so many times. You get a layer of habits and conditions off and have some good times for awhile; and then you run into the next layer! May I never perceive myself to be completely developed or recovered. There is so much adventure, joy, and revelation in the journey to becoming who God intended me to be. I am so grateful to be able to learn from the other travelers on my way.

“But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty;” 1 Corinthians 1:27

Published by

princessspirit

I have 23 years continuous 12 Step Recovery and have walked a broad and varied spiritual path on my way to becoming a Christian Reverend and Counselor.